Parliament is elected for a term of 4 years.

A Parliamentary year is opened on the second Tuesday of September or at an earlier date to be laid down by national ordinance with a discourse by or on behalf of the Governor, expounding on the policy to be pursued by the Government during a meeting of Parliament held for that purpose.

In fact, this means that every Parliamentary term consists of four Parliamentary years.

The Minister of Finance, on behalf of Government, submits the draft national ordinance establishing the budget of the country for the next year on the second Tuesday of September as well.