Committee for District Councils

Established on December 12, 2019, the Committee for District Councils is Parliament’s youngest Permanent Committee. The purpose of establishing this Committee was to create a direct and effective line of communication between Members of Parliament and residents and other stakeholders in an effort to bring more cohesion in the districts of St. Maarten. This Committee meets with the community council representatives on a quarterly basis to gain insight into the particular grievances, activities and/or needs of the residents. Site visits can also be done to gain further, first-hand insight into the aforementioned matters.

1. MP Akeem E. Arrindell
2. MP Sidharth M. Bijlani, Vice Chairman
3. MP Solange L. Duncan
4. MP Christophe T. Emmanuel
5. MP Grisha S. Heyliger-Marten
6. MP William V. Marlin
7. MP George C. Pantophlet
8. MP Hyacinth L. Richardson
9. MP Angelique J.G. Romou, Chairlady
10. MP Sarah A. Wescot-Williams
griffier: G.J. Richardson, LL.M.