motion no. 1
MOTION (of disapproval)

The Parliament of St. Maarten, in its meeting of today, November 9th, 2017

## Considering:

That on November 2<sup>nd</sup>, 2017 a motion of no confidence was passed against six of the seven ministers of the government of Sint Maarten;

That the motion has been substantiated with the following reasoning:

"Considering

- The devastating impact of hurricane Irma, a category 5-plus hurricane which battered St. Maarten on September 6, 2017;
- That on October 4<sup>th</sup>, 2017 a motion was presented, subsequently unanimously accepted in Parliament, expressing Parliament's concern and urgently calling on Government to address pressing and urgent matters the Country found itself faced with and made several recommendations to address said matters.
- That Parliament believes that in the handling of matters, before, during and after hurricane Irma, there was gross neglect by the Prime Minister in his capacity of chief of disaster management.
- That the Prime Minister's confrontational attitude over and again is setting St. Maarten backward rather than forward.
- That this neglect and attitude have had serious consequences for the people of St. Maarten.
- That nowhere is this more evident than the standoff with the Dutch/Kingdom.
   Government on the matter of conditions attached to receiving aid from the Kingdom government;
- That this confrontation has seriously jeopardized the flow of reconstruction funds from the Netherlands.
- That it is unlikely that the government's last minute agreement with aforementioned conditions, will have any positive effect on the flow of the funds.
- That 2 months following the hurricane there is still no damage and needs assessment;
- That the Government, in the opinion of Parliament failed in its responsibilities to protect the people of Sint Maarten in the wake of a disaster."

That by National Decree ("the Decree") of November 3<sup>rd</sup>, 2017 (No. LB-17/0575)

Parliament has been dissolved and new elections have been called.

That the Decree has been substantiated with the following reasoning: dat het onderzoek van de Commissie Electorale Hervorming naar het fenomeen

afsplitsen door een statenlid van de partij, waarmee dat lid aan de verkiezingen heeft deelgenomen, afkeuren en dat afsplitsen wensen tegen te gaan; dat een Statenlid zich thans weer heeft afgesplitst van de partij waarmee hij aan de verkiezingen heeft deelgenomen en zich als onafhankelijk Statenlid heeft opgesteld, met alle nadelige gevolgen van dien voor het bestuur van het land; dat als gevolg hiervan de continuïteit van de regering is ondermijnd; dat door dit afsplitsen van politieke partijen ook voor toekomstige regeringen een duurzame meerderheid in de Staten niet meer kan worden gegarandeerd; dat een duurzame meerderheid als vorenbedoeld een randvoorwaarde is om de bestuurlijke voorzieningen die in het kader van de wederopbouw van Sint Maarten na orkaan Irma geboden zijn tot stand te kunnen brengen; dat de regering, gezien de ontstane politiek-bestuurlijke situatie, de ontbinding van de Staten noodzakelijk acht en om nieuwe verkiezingen uit te schrijven;

That the Minister of General Affairs did not hold or facilitate any consultations prior to the signing of the Decree, which given its impact can be considered mandatory;

That the Decree fails to recognize that the motion of no confidence is extensively substantiated, while at the same time the Decree lacks a convincing reasoning also in the light of the multiple advices that were given in 2015 in the same matter;

That first of all the "independence" of a Parliamentarian is a given in the Constitution, so the reasoning has unjustly held such against one and possibly against three members of parliament;

That secondly no "ship jumping" took place as the motion of no confidence gives a clear reasoning why members of parliament could not support government in its confrontational and counter-productive approach;

That thirdly most experts had the vision and were of the opinion that dissolving parliament should not take place on a frequent basis and may not be applied lightly for it erodes the central role of parliament;

That apart from the aforementioned principle objections against dissolving parliament, the established election date also fringes upon the constitutional right to elect and be elected;

That the Decree, in accordance with the Constitution, also wrongfully sets a date for a parliamentary session and in doing so fails to acknowledge that parliament

handles its own affairs;

That the aforementioned Decree thus lacks both formal and material prerequisites that the Governor should have refrained from signing said Decree;

## Resolves:

That the parliament disapproves of the decision of the Government (National Decree No. LB-17/0575) to dissolve Parliament and hold premature elections.

And goes over to the order of the day,

Copies of this motion to be

sent to:

The Governor of St. Maarten

The Government of St. Maarten

MP Perry Geerlings

MP Franklin Meyers

MP Sarah Wescot-Williams

MP Tamara Leonard

MP Sidharth Bijlani

MP Theodore Heyliger

MP Chanel Brownbill



## motioni

## PARLIAMENT OF SINT MAARTEN

Friday, November 10, 2017, Public Meeting no. 08 Voting list

Unanimous

NO.	NAME	VOOR/FOR	TEGEN/AGAINST
1.	S.A. Wescot-Williams	,	
2.	Sidharth M Bylani		
3.	Sidharth M Bylani Chanel E Brownbill		
	Claret MM. Connor.		
5.	Perry FM Geerlings	,	
6.	Theodore E Heyliger		/
7.	ardwell MR Irion		
8.	Jamara E Leonard		
9.	Franklin A Meyers		
1 - 0	George C. Pantophlet		
_	/	. /	
12.	Erans G. Richardson drs. Rodolphe F. Samue	<b>Y</b>	
13.	1		
14.			
15.			